A Quick Look At Editing

Hell, I’m a day late. Sorry about that, I’ve had so much going on this post completely slipped my mind.

MM900178141I thought I’d share with you a bit about my editing process. First off let me tell you I HATE editing. Before I started writing for some reason I thought all I needed to do was write my story, send it in to a publishing house and their editors would do their magic and bam my novel would be published. Well let me tell you that was a big misconception.

So on to my editing process. This is by no means everyone’s way of doing things but it seems to work for me.

  1. I check for spelling mistakes. (There are normally heaps)
  2. I look for misused words. I like to have a list beside me to make sure I’ve used the right ones.
  3. I look for overused words and phrases. (Again there are normally a heap of these.) I think we all have favourites we turn to all the time.
  4. The next thing I do is I use Natural Reader to listen to my novel. I hate the sound of my voice so find it easier to go this way.
  5. I then go back and fix up any problems I may have picked up along the way.
  6. I make notes of where I need to add more description or less dialogue.
  7. After I’ve make those changes I print out the manuscript and go back and do line edits and start the process again.
  8. Once that is done and I’m happy with what I have I’ll send it off to my CP, who will normally pick up something I’ve missed. You really can’t trust your own judgement in these matters.
  9. Then I do one last rewrite, one last edit check and I’m ready to go.

I know this isn’t a very long post, but I’m still getting use to living in town and the strange noises are not playing nice with my migraines.

Until next time

Happy Writing

Sandie

2 thoughts on “A Quick Look At Editing

  1. Sandie, I’m all for your idea. Write it, send it in, then leave it in the pub’s hands! I wish! This is a great list for editing. I also try & look at the pacing of my story as well as ensuring each scene starts & ends on some kind of hook or lead-in comment. Great post, Sandie.

  2. I’m off to check out Natural Reader. I read some parts out loud but get tired of my own voice after too long!

    My edit list has a list of pesky crutch words – like just, that, really etc. It’s a pretty long list 🙂

Leave a Reply

